Image d'entête

Economy

Trapping is an important economic activity for many regions. By properly using this renewable resource, several businesses and workers highlight the beauty of this exceptional product.

Fur

Photo d'une fourrure

Although there has been a significant decline in fur prices in the last decades, and although there has been a loss of habitat as well as development of many fur farms, trapping activity still generates substantial income. For instance, the fur industry generated 800 million dollars for the Canadian economy in 2013. Globally, Quebec is a very important province in terms of fur sales followed closely by Ontario.

Other than the sale of fur, trapping generates important economic activity through the expenses of trappers. In Quebec, this economic activity is estimated at over 12 million dollars in 2012. Regionally, trapping is recognized as an important driver for the economy. Moreover, trapping allows the harvest of food, clothing and supplemental income, which is often times very significant for families of trappers living in rural or remote areas.

Optimal Use

Photo d'un ours brun

For most trappers, trapping is often limited to capturing animals and marketing raw skins. Fur is therefore the main products from their operation, but it is not the only one. Optimal use of animals may include several other uses. Once the fur has been removed, the meat of certain species can be prepared and eaten. In this respect, beaver, muskrat, lynx, black bear and squirrel are absolutely delicious!

Parts of other animals such as claws or teeth may also be used and sold for crafts. You may not know this but the fat of certain animals can even be transformed into soap!

Learn more: Black bear, a great harvest

Claws
Claws
Skulls
Skulls
Fat and soap
Fat and soap
Baculum
Baculum
Jewelry
Jewelry
Recipes
Recipes

Why?

Follow up readings

Outdoor activity

Trapping requires proper preparation in the field, as well as a follow-up of sets which leads to this activity being practiced all year round. Trapping allows the trapper to be outdoors throughout all seasons. It is a great opportunity to experience a privileged connection with the environment.

In touch with nature

Image d'entête

Économie

Le piégeage est un levier économique important pour de nombreuses régions. Par l’utilisation respectueuse de cette ressource renouvelable qu'est la fourrure, plusieurs entreprises et artisans mettent en valeur cette matière d’une qualité exceptionnelle.

Fourrure

Photo d'une fourrure

Malgré un déclin marqué des prix de la fourrure au cours des dernières décennies, conjugué à la perte d'habitat , les activités de piégeage génèrent encore des revenus substantiels. Le Québec est globalement la province la plus importante en termes de vente de fourrure sauvage au Canada, suivi de proche par l’Ontario. Le commerce de la fourrure (sauvage et d'élevage) apportait par exemple plus de 800 millions $ à l’économie canadienne en 2013. Plus de 85% des vêtements en fourrure sont d'ailleurs fabriqués à Montréal.

Outre la vente des fourrures, le piégeage engendre également des retombées économiques découlant des dépenses des piégeurs pour l’exercice de leur métier. Au Québec, ces retombées se chiffraient à plus de 12 millions de dollars en 2012. Le piégeage est reconnu comme moteur économique régional du Québec. D’ailleurs, le piégeage permet encore de fournir de la nourriture, de l’habillement et des revenus d’appoint parfois indispensables aux familles des piégeurs habitant des collectivités rurales ou éloignées.

Mise en valeur

Photo d'un ours brun

Pour la plupart des piégeurs, l’activité se limite souvent à capturer des animaux à fourrure et à les mettre en marché sous forme brute : des peaux séchées. La fourrure est donc le produit principal issu du piégeage mais il n’est pas exclusif. La mise en valeur des animaux prélevés peut aussi se faire de bien d’autres façons et est même encouragée.

Une fois la fourrure retirée, certaines espèces peuvent être préparées et consommées. Ainsi, le castor, le rat musqué, le lynx, l’ours noir et l’écureuil bien apprêtés ont de bonnes propriétés nutritives, voire même de grandes qualités gastronomiques.

Certaines autres pièces anatomiques des animaux à fourrure (os, griffes, dents) sont également utilisées en artisanat et commercialisées. Imaginez vous que la graisse peut même se transformer en savon!

Apprenez-en plus : Mise en valeur de l’ours noir

Griffes
Griffes
Crâne
Crâne
Graisse et savon
Graisse et savon
Baculum
Baculum
Bijoux
Bijoux
Recettes
Recettes

Pourquoi?

Poursuivre la lecture

Activité de plein air

Le piégeage requiert une préparation du terrain ainsi qu’un suivi soutenu des installations, ce qui en fait une activité de plein air pratiquée tout au long de l’année. Le piégeage permet ainsi au piégeur de profiter de la nature au fil des saisons...

Contact avec la nature